The board of adjustment shall hear and decide appeals from and review any order, requirement, decision, or determination made by an administrative official charged with the enforcement of any ordinance adopted. The Board is a "quasi-judicial" administrative body that operates on a level between the enforcement officers and courts.

Planning Department: (910) 371-3390

Board of Adjustment Members

  • Joe Bryant
  • Mose Highsmith
  • Tim Linkhorn
  • Robert Penwell
  • Stephen Whitney

Board of Adjustment Alternates

  • Chuck Spittel
  • Michael Roberts

Council Liaison: Brenda Bozeman

Staff Representative:  Robert Waring


The Cultural Arts Sub-committee meets the second Wednesday of each month at 9:00 A.M.

The Leland Cultural Arts Sub-Committee (CASC) is hereby created to promote and develop arts organizations, artists, facilities, cultural activity and cultural tourism in Leland and northern Brunswick County and to advise and assist the Town Council in planning for the cultural arts in Leland.

For more information contact Niel Brooks, Parks & Rec. Director at (910) 332-4818


The Town Council meets the 3rd Thursday of every month at 6:00 p.m.
at the Leland Town Hall Council Chambers.



Brenda Bozeman, COG Representative
1001 Plum Leaf Court
Leland, NC 28451
Elected: 11/13
Term Expires: 12/17

Office Hours at Town Hall Building:
Tuesday - 1pm to 5pm
Thursday - 9am to 1pm

Mayor Pro Tem

Pat Batleman, TAC Representative
918 Spicebush Drive
Winnabow, NC 28479
Elected: 11/13
Term expires: 12/17

Town Council Members

Michael R. Callahan
3787 Anslow Drive
Leland, NC  28451 
(910) 332-5016
Elected: 11/15
Term Expires: 12/19

Bob Campbell
1003 Winterberry Circle
Leland, NC 28451
(910) 332-5017
Elected: 11/15
Term Expires: 12/19

Bob Corriston
Liaison to the Parks & Rec. Board
3268 Gardenwood Drive
Leland, NC 28451
(910) 399-1154
Elected: 11/13
Term Expires: 12/17


The purpose of the Town of Leland Parks and Recreation Board is to perform and
commission recreation and park studies, make recommendations on recreation policy
and grant activities, and to offer advice and assistance to the Town Council and others,
as necessary or as requested, on the development of parks and recreation plans
and activities for the Town of Leland.  The board meets the last Wednesday of
each month at 6:30 p.m. at the Leland Town Hall.


Parks & Recreation Board Members

  • Walter Chmielenski, Chair
  • John Carter
  • Jessica Middleswarth
  • Samuel Richardson
  • Tom Charles
  • Robert Chodosh
  • Arlene Holmes, Vice Chair
  Council Liaison:  Michael Callahan


The town's Planning Board meets the fourth Tuesday of each month at 6:30 P.M.

For more information contact the Town of Leland Planning Department at 910-371-3390

Planning Board Members

  • Joe Bryant
  • Mose Highsmith, Vice Chair
  • Timothy Linkhorn
  • Charles Spittel
  • Michael Roberts, Chairman
  • Robert Penwell
  • Stephen Whitney
  • Brenda Bozeman, Council Liaison to the Board

TDA meets the fourth Wednesday of every month. (Except for November and December, meetings are the first Wednesday of December only.)

Meetings are held at 9:00 a.m. at Leland Town Hall, 102 Town Hall Drive, Leland, NC.

Tourism Development Authority Members

Barry Eagle, Chairman
Email: /council-boards

Justin Williams

Dana Fisher
Email: /council-boards

Zack Gooden, Secretary
Email: /council-boards

Glenda Browning, Executive Director
Email: /council-boards

Missy Rhodes, Finance Officer
Email: /council-boards

  •      James Caton
  •      Ivy Cutrell, Jr.
  •      Robert Hart
  •      Keith Keller
  •      Phillip Sykes

     Council Liaison: Bob Corriston
  • David W. Sink, Jr.
  • Bruce Mancinelli
  • Richard Gentry Allison
  • Michael W. Braddock, II
  • Paul M. Stiegler
  • Gene Merritt
  • P.J. Doherty

     Council Liaison:  Bob Corriston
     Staff Representative:  Gary Vidmar


Leland Pedestrian Plan Steering Committee Bylaws adopted 10 16 2014


                 Council Liaison:  Michael Callahan

As a Subcommittee of the Leland Parks and Recreation Board, the Leland Special Events Planning Subcommittee (SEPS) is hereby created to provide ideas and assist staff with the planning for large-scale special events in Leland. The Subcommittee shall seek to provide and support events that enable maximum citizen enjoyment and participation and reflect positively on the Town of Leland.

Duties and Goals

   • Work with the Parks and Recreation staff to develop large-scale Town events for recommendation to the Parks and Recreation Board and Town Council.
   • Work with local businesses and non-profit organizations to promote events and encourage their participation and support. Recruit volunteer support for special events.
   • Provide regular reports on the Subcommittee’s activities to the Parks and Recreation Board.
   • Present, review, advise or recommend any other matter related to large-scale special events as the Parks and Recreation Board or Mayor and Town Council may direct.

Further details will be updated when the Special Events Planning Sub-committee is formed and meeting times are agreed upon.

Infrastructure Committee

February 2016

Ralph Mercorella
Term Expires: May 21, 2017

Patrick Cummings
Term Expires: May 21, 2017

James Morrow
Term Expires: May 21, 2018

Kevin Young
Term Expires: May 21, 2018

John Kazmarski, Chairman
Term Expires: May 21, 2018

Staff Representatives: Jimmy Strickland and Steven Spruill
Council Liaison: Bob Corriston